Cooking on a Budget🌮🍗🍜

Over the years I have learned how to cook budget-friendly meals. This used to be difficult for me.  Growing up, my family cooked very large meals, enough to feed an entire brigade of soldiers. When I became an adult and was single, I didn’t have to cook at all if I did not want to.  Now that I am married and have children, I am the person responsible for preparing most of the meals my family eats.

I have learned over time to make smaller meal portions. I have also learned how to cook budget-friendly meals.  I don’t know about you, but in my culture we eat a lot of meat. Meat is the most expensive part of a meal.  We make at least one or two pieces of meat per person, in a large family that can easily be 10 or more pieces of meat.

In order to save money, I began making more casseroles,  soups, stew’s and pasta dishes. This way I can still make a meal that can feed my entire family without using a lot of meat.  I have put a few links for budget-friendly meals for large families below.  FYI these are not five-star gourmet dinners🍝 LOL, but they will help you get out of debt and further your financial goals.😉

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/218493/melindas-porcupine-meatballs/

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/garlic-chicken-and-potatoes-recipe-2120118

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/222582/baked-spaghetti/

There are plenty of recipes that can fit your financial budget and even help you excel.  It’s as simple as making a few changes in the meals that you already eat. You can check out http://www.myfridgefood.com if you’re not sure what to make from the food you have in your refrigerator. This site lets you enter ingredients that you have and helps you put together a recipe with them. Google is my best friend when looking for easy, budget-friendly meals.

Food is used to provide nutrition for our bodies. The meals I make are not Food Network competition ready, but they are good and they do help my family get ahead financially and that’s what’s important to me.

I hope you get a few good tips and begin to research more ways to save a few dollars on your families meals.

Bon Appetit🍸

Author: sgm_hh6

I am a wife, mom, author and couponer. I do my best to live a frugal lifestyle. I want to be able to leave my children with something more than memories. I want to leave them the freedom of financial security. I want every decision they make as adults to be based on logical reasoning and not emotional need or desperation. I want them to enjoy their lives without fear of being financially inadequate.

One thought on “Cooking on a Budget🌮🍗🍜”

  1. Great tips, I love casseroles- so easy to make and easy to stretch the meat, like you said! I was famous for not using up meat fast enough and having to throw it away *face palm* huge money waster! I do a lot of freezer meals now to prevent that and also saves a ton of time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

